Image default
Law

Things to know about divorce in Utah

Filing for divorce is never an easy decision. While this could be an emotional roller-coaster ride, you need to be practical with your steps. A divorce is generally the eventuality of a failed marriage. However, not everyone is interested in washing dirty linen in public. The good news is Utah allows for both fault-based and no-fault divorce. No matter the circumstances, it is in your best interest that you get a lawyer on your side. In this post, we are discussing the basics about filing for divorce in Utah, with a guide on hiring a Salt Lake City divorce lawyer

What are the grounds for divorce in Utah?

If you and your spouse can agree on a no-fault divorce, “irreconcilable differences” could be cited as a reason, and that’s usually enough. In fault-based divorce, there can be many grounds, including impotency, adultery, desertion, conviction of a felony, and cruel treatment.

Like in most states, there is a residency requirement in Utah too. Spouse filing for divorce should have lived in the state for a continuous period of 3 months. There is also a 90-day waiting period in Utah, which is the minimum time required to get through a divorce. 

Do you need a divorce lawyer?

Hiring a divorce lawyer in Utah is entirely your personal call. There are many known law firms in Salt Lake City that specialize in all matters related to family laws, and their lawyers can guide further on your rights. Your divorce lawyer will work on your side and ensure that the overall settlement is fair to you. They will check if everything has been discussed and settled to your expectations, so that a trial can be avoided. If your spouse has hired a lawyer, it is evident that they are seeking legal help, and in such circumstances, you should consider that too. If you believe that direct discussions with your spouse may not help, a divorce lawyer can be really handy in resolving and addressing key concerns. Also, you should get legal help when you are in fear of being harmed by your spouse.

Talking money with a divorce lawyer

Unlike personal injury lawyers, divorce lawyers don’t work on a contingency basis. It makes sense that you discuss the hourly rate in advance. A good divorce lawyer will try to help as much as possible, and the financials can be discussed. Nevertheless, always be prepared to deal with the expenses of the case. 

Related posts

Criminal Law: Different types of Criminal

Noemi Davin

The Significance Of Getting A Criminal Law Defense Attorney Just Before Arraignment

Noemi Davin

Causes Of Criminal Police Force – Objectives

Noemi Davin